Get Started: Reference Works
Provides biographical information on notable figures, as well as scholarly treatments of organizations, events, institutions, and concepts important to the experience of Black women in America.
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
This work covers human sexual behavior throughout the world, with 62 country overviews and articles on topics such as gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, and contraception.
Credo Reference | Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Browse a selection of authoritative titles covering topics related to women, gender, and sexuality studies, including guides to key concepts and dictionaries of key terms.
Dictionary of Women Worldwide: 25,000 Women Through the Ages
This resource from Gale contains short biographies of 25,000 women. Try searching by name, occupation, or other keywords.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
An encyclopedia of gender studies that provides cross-national and cross-cultural perspectives on issues of gender and society.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
Examines the ways in which the media can be used to uphold or break down gender stereotypes and norms.
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
A guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present. Browse by country or by cause.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Includes over 600 biographies of notable women, as well as topical articles illuminating how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by historical, social, and demographic changes across times and regions.
Find Articles: Search Databases and E-journals
A great starting point for locating scholarly articles. ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature, religion), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
Find scholarly articles, interviews, original works of fiction, and reviews of books and performances. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, religion, film, communications, performing arts, and more.
Connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields. Compiled & maintained by American Psychological Association (APA).
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
This unique database contains articles, reference works and primary sources about U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Browse by name, place, publication, subject, or by social movement.
Browse books by subject
Search Primary Sources and Digital Collections
This online exhibit from the Smith College Libraries presents primary source materials on 20th Century women's activism in the United States. Also included in this exhibit are lesson plan and curriculum materials geared towards middle- and high-school students.
Black Thought and Culture
Superb collection of historical and contemporary sources related to African-American culture and intellectual life. Includes writings by leaders within the black community, important biographies and events.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States, ranging from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources
A full-text collection of primary sources on gender issues and sexuality from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
Watch & Listen: Multimedia Resources
A comprehensive source for information about significant individuals throughout history and the present. Many entries include further readings and links to websites.
LGBT Studies in Video | Alexander Street Press
Streaming videos that explore the social, cultural, and political issues concerning LGBT people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Women's Studies in Video | Alexander Street Press
Streaming documentaries and films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics.
Kanopy (streaming video)
Watch full-length videos that consider the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Contains some of the most-watched videos from the Wheelock College Library.
Biographies of women mathematicians from the 6th century B.C. through the present. Each entry provides a biography as well as a list of references.
Jewish Women's Archive
The Jewish Women's Archive in Brookline hosts an online Encyclopedia of Jewish women, free lesson plans and educational materials, online exhibits, and many other resources.
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University
Online exhibitions, subject guides, and news stories concerning women's history.
Women's eNews is an award-winning nonprofit news service covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy.
Women's Studies Section Links
Women and Gender Studies Web sites selected by the Women Studies Section, Association of College and Research Libraries. This site provides links to information about women in art, business, education, film, and many other topics.