Research Guides: Poetry

Back to Research Guides List

Intro

Welcome to our Wheelock College Poetry Subject Guide! Here you will find information about finding poetry resources in the library and on the web. 
           

Don't forget to celebrate National Poetry Month in April!

Chat with Us!

chat loading...

Our Collection

Want to know what's in our poetry collection here at Wheelock?

We troubled the waters : poems / by Ntozake Shange ; paintings by Rod Brown.

Sappho : a new translation / by Mary Barnard ; foreword by Dudley Fitts.

Don't call us dead : poems / Danez Smith.

Devotions : the selected poems of Mary Oliver / Mary Oliver.

And much more! Stop by the library and check them out today.

*We also have full-text online access to many issues of Poetry Magazine.

Find Articles and Books

Relevant Databases

Humanities Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Find scholarly articles, interviews, original works of fiction, and reviews of books and performances.  Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, religion, film, communications, performing arts, and more.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is an extensive database of interdisciplinary scholarship from the humanities, social sciences and physical sciences. Contains full-text articles, but may exclude the most recent issues.


Reference Works

The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Covers important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. A great place to get started with literary research.


Subject Terms

Poetry
Poetry (Literary Form)
Creative Writing
Poets--Works
Poets--Criticism and Interpretation
Poetry Collections
Children's Poetry
Poetry by Children

*Note that you can modify your search under "Refine Your Results."
 

Multimedia Resources & Selected Websites

Children's Poetry Archive Unrestricted Resource
Children's Poems section of The Poetry Archive, a U.K. nonprofit that records poets reading their work.

LOC Poetry Audio Unrestricted Resource
Audio poetry recordings from the Library of Congress.

Poetry Prompts Unrestricted Resource
Poetry prompts from Poets & Writers.

Poetry Term Glossary Unrestricted Resource
A dictionary of poetry terms from the Academy of American Poets.

Poetry Foundation Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Poetry Foundation website with searchable database of poems. 

 

Ask Your Librarian

Picture: Marlan Sigelman
Marlan Sigelman

Find Books

 

Call Numbers

You can also browse on the shelves in the 811 section for Poetry, and J 811 for Kids Poetry. 

Related Guides

Additional Resources

Textbooks/Reference Materials available though Wheelock and FLO

Poetry [electronic resource] / John Strachan and Richard Terry.

The Norton anthology of modern and contemporary poetry / edited by Jahan Ramazani, Richard Ellmann, Robert O'Clair

The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics

OpenCourseware

There are free courses on the web related to Poetry, including these courses from MIT and Yale.
 

This page maintained by: Louisa Choy
Powered by SubjectsPlus

Wheelock College Library
132 Riverway Boston, Massachusetts 02215

Earl Center for Learning and Innovation
180 Riverway Boston, Massachusetts 02215