Back to Wheelock.edu
Selected Websites
APA Guide to Helping Child Cope with Trauma
American Psychological Association's guidelines for supporting children through traumatic events.
Association for Applied and Therapeutic Humor (AATH)
This professional association is for social workers, child life specialists, allied health professionals, educators, psychologists, and more.  Anyone who uses therapeutic humor in their professional work is welcome to join.  The AATH website links to many other organizations and resources on topics such as "humor and healthcare" and "humor and grief/loss/crisis."
Mental Health America - Coping with Disaster
Various online resources including factsheets and tips for children and families on dealing with the effects of war, terrorism, and natural disaster.
National Center for PTSD
Research and education on the prevention, understanding, and treatment of PTSD provided by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Child Mind Institute - Helping Children After School Shooting
The institute includes an interview with Paramjit Joshi, MD and includes additional resources such as Symptom Checker and other tips.
CDC - Coping With Stress
A collection of resources on stress reduction and techniques to help adults and children cope with the aftermath of a traumatic event.
Disaster Mental Health
Provides resources and information for working in area of disaster relief and disaster mental health.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)
The AACAP is a national professional medical association dedicated to treating and informing about mental, behavioral and developmental disorders in children. Resources on their site include glossaries, FAQs and fact sheets as well as clinical resources. This source is great for learning more about how psychiatric conditions such as anxiety disorders, autism, and mood disorders affect children.
American Academy of Experts in Traumatic Stress
The Academy aims to identify expertise among professionals, across disciplines, and provide standards for those who provide intervention to survivors of traumatic events. Their website provides a professional directory as well as information about publications and certification programs.
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
You'll find information regarding the American Academy of Pediatrics' many programs and activities, policies and guidelines, publications and other child health resources and more. Using the "Health Topics" tab, users can find information about specific pediatric issues, as well as how to navigate the health system. AAP also posts information about recent research in pediatrics
National Education Association : Crisis Communications Guide and Toolkit
Offers step-by-step advice for schools and districts to use before, during, and after a crisis.
National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH)
NIMH, one of the National Institutes of Health, provides information about current mental health research and practices. Information about clinical trials, statistics, and finding help is also available.
University of Illinois Extension Disaster Resources
List of online resources about preparing for and coping with disaster. Check out the "Information Resources" section to find tips for helping children deal with stress and natural disasters.
Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Credo Reference (reference) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
ebrary Academic Complete (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search our collection of over 80,000 ebooks!  Read books in your web browser, highlight and take notes, or download sections of books in PDF format.  Accessible off-campus with your Wheelock login.
Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
Academic Search Premier (ASP) Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text professional and academic articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association since 1894. Includes psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and communications.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields.   This database is compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA).
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a great database for social and behavioral sciences and a wide variety of physical, life, and health science articles as well. Many of the articles are available in full-text.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A great multidisciplinary database, this resource provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Reference Desk

Reference Desk
Reference
Tel: 617-879- 2222

Revised: Jul 17th 2013
Powered by SubjectsPlus