Back to Wheelock.edu
Get Started: Reference Works
Key Issues in Crime and Punishment: Juvenile Crime and Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
The chapters in this work explore hotly debated topics in the field of juvenile justice, including prevention, prosecution, and corrections.
The Oxford Companion to American Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
This volume explores law's role in decisions about governance, the significance of state and local laws and institutions, and the place of American law in a globalized world.
World of Criminal Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This e-reference book provides concise overviews of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Includes biographies of key figures.
Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
Academic Search Premier (ASP) Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Research opposing viewpoints on various current issues in this database, featuring topic overviews, full-text magazine, news, and journal articles, podcasts, websites, and more.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields.   This database is compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA).
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a great database for social and behavioral sciences and a wide variety of physical, life, and health science articles as well. Many of the articles are available in full-text.
SocINDEX with Full-Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
An in-depth research database with full text articles from journals in sociology and social work and such related sub-disciplines as ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence.  Includes some books indexed by chapter.
Google Scholar Some full text available
Google Scholar offers the ease of searching with Google for scholarly works and publicly available legal opinions. Make sure to check off Legal Opinions and Journals under the search box to limit your results to cases and court related material.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive resource for news, legal, or business information. Lexis-Nexis is particularly helpful when looking for newspaper articles or information about legal cases and statutes.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A great multidisciplinary database, this resource provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
General Law Resources
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Found a legal citation that looks useful but can't make sense of the journal abbreviation? Check this website to search from abbreviation to title or from title to abbreviation for English language legal publications worldwide.
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
This guide to legal citation from Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute focuses on forms of citation used in professional practice.
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries (MTCLL)
Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries is an online library that includes court rules, forms, and links to other resources about the criminal justice system in Massachusetts.  Topics include juvenile justice and general Massachusetts law.
Public Library of Law
The Public Library of Law (PLOL) is a free database of state and federal case law, with links to additional resources.  Available on the PLOL website are cases from U.S. Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, cases from all 50 states back to 1997, federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states, as well as regulations, court rules, constitutions and more.
United States Courts
The United States Courts website has education resources about the Supreme Court, federal courts, constitutional concepts as well as information, forms and court records for researchers, jurors and legal professionals.
By the Numbers: Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The BJS collects and disseminates data on crime and law enforcement at the state and federal level. Browse by topics such as capital punishment, cybercrime, or civil rights cases, or download PDF summaries or datasets.
FBI Crime Statistics
The FBI's statistics on crime include data and reports on hate crimes, assaults on law enforcement officers, threat assessments and terrorism, among other topics.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
This searchable website includes statistics, reports, and publications on the topic of criminal justice, and also provides tools for online data analysis and research guides for certain topics.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Sections include public opinion, crime and its victims, arrests and seizures, judicial processing, and correctional supervision.
Need more? Check out the Statistical Resources guide.
Selected Websites
American Bar Association (ABA) Juvenile Justice Committee
The Juvenile Justice Committe of the American Bar Association develops continuing legal education (CLE) programs for juvenile justice practitioners and develops policies to further national juvenile justice reform. The site has newsletters and other publications on the topic.
Annie E. Casey Foundation Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative
Organization designed to support the Casey Foundation's vision that all youth involved in the juvenile justice system have opportunities to develop into healthy, productive adults. Particularly helpful is the Kids Count Data Center which lays out statistics about child well-being by state and across states.
Civil Rights Clearinghouse
The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States. Some of the largest collections are on topics such as juvenile institutions, prison conditions, and equal employment.
Coalition for Juvenile Justice (CJJ)
CJJ is a national nonprofit association representing governor-appointed advisory groups on juvenile justice from the U.S.  The site contains reports, fact sheets and state by state directories.
Court Listener
Court Listener is free legal search engine with an alert service covering the U.S. federal appellate courts, a database of opinions with more than 750,000 documents, including the Supreme Court corpus since 1754. Court Listener automatically updates the latest court documents and is a core project of the Free Law Project.
CrimeSolutions.gov
The site provides information on 150 criminal justice, crime victim services and juvenile justice programs.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault contains 6,700 documents and other media from the Federal Bureau of Investigation that have been scanned from paper into digital copies and released to the public. Search or browse by topic, person or keyword.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
The FBI site contains a great deal of information on crime in the U.S. as well as the Bureau itself.  The links to Reports & Publications and For Researchers are particularly useful for tracking down information on statistics or other information.
Fight Crime: Invest in Kids
Fight Crime aims to reduce crime through early prevention in children's lives.  The site contains reports, briefs and other relevant research about preventative programs such as Head Start.    Fight Crime breaks down it's own research by subject, state and year.
National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)
Public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.  The site includes data tools, state profiles and more.
National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ)
NCMHJJ is a government agency that focuses on improving policies and programs for youth with mental health disorders in collaboration with juvenile justice systems.  The site includes access to the organizations research and reports on juvenile justice related topics.
National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD)
The NCCD provides access to research and data on the criminal justice system.  The organization promotes evidence based policies and strategies for agencies across the U.S.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The NCJRS acts as a gateway to other agencies on criminal justice and related topics.  The site directs you to the sources of statistics and information on various topics.
National Institute of Corrections (NIC)
The National Institute of Corrections (NIC) is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. The library provides access to over 18,000 corrections-related resources including training plans, research reports, program evaluations and more.
NCSC Juvenile Justice Resource Guide
This guide from the National Center for State Courts includes a list of up-to-date articles and reports on juvenile justice topics, as well as links to state-specific juvenile justice departments.
Office of Justice Programs (OJP)
OJP houses many department websites including the Bureau of Justice Statistics.  The site collects, analysis, statistics and publications about crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)
OJJDP disseminates information about juvenile justice issues.  The site includes statistics, reports state by state contact information and much more.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA is the U.S. government agency devoted to reducing the impact of substance abuse and mental illness in communities.  Its website provides information on research and policy, access to data, and referrals to helplines for those in distress.
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute features analysis of social issues and policy.  The site is a great source for reports and information on employment, children and youth, housing and much more.  Browse through the list of topics along the left sidebar for more information on individual topics.
Building Blocks for Youth
The organization provides state-by-state statistics, issues, and reports on the topic of juvenile justice.
Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV)
CSPV provides access to research and literature on violence prevention along with listings of treatment and intervention programs across the nation.  The site contains information about violence-related curricula, videos, and other resource materials. CSPV also compiles data collection tools available on violence-related topics for program evaluation purposes.
Criminal Justice / Mental Health Consensus Project
Research reports and materials for policymakers and professionals to improve the response to people with mental illnesses who come into contact with the criminal justice system.
Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC) - Juveniles and the Death Penalty
The Death Penalty Information Center is a non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment.  It includes a separate Roper v. Simmons resource page.
Juvenile Law Center (JLC)
Juvenile Law Center website includes information on legal advocacy, publications, projects, public education, and training dealing with child welfare, juvenile justice, and other child well fare issues.
MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Adolescent Development and Juvenile Justice
This site contains the foundation's research and reports on adolescent development and the origins and prevention of juvenile delinquency.
National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ)
NCJJ is a non-profit organization that publishes original research on juvenile justice.  The Quick Links in the lower right of the website are particularly useful.  The links include quick access to state overviews, statistics and more.
National Gang Center (NGC)
The NGC provides information, resources, practical tools, and expertise for the development and implementation of effective gang prevention, intervention, and suppression strategies.
National Juvenile Defender Center (NJDC)
NJDC offers a range of resources for juvenile defenders, including training, technical assistance, advocacy, networking, and collaboration.  The site also includes state by state information, assessments and reports on juvenile justice issues throughout the US.
National Youth Screening Assistance Project (NYSAP)
A juvenile justice and mental health technical assistance center at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.  The site includes information on the MAYSI-2 screening instrument.
SOBS: Chicagoland Gangs
The site is a 1996 Chicago Crime Commission pamphlet on gang names, clothing, symbols, structure, and organizations providing assistance to gang members.
Striving to Reduce Youth Violence Everywhere (STRYVE)
STRYVE offers resources on training and technical assistance, professional collaboration and networking focused on community-wide youth violence prevention strategies.  The site includes prevention strategies along with definitions and impacts of youth violence.

Revised: Aug 19th 2014
Powered by SubjectsPlus