Back to Wheelock.edu

Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
ArchiveGrid
The ArchiveGrid searches across many archival collections and links you to archive records and sometimes digital collections.


Credo Reference (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.

ebrary Academic Complete (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search our collection of over 80,000 ebooks!  Read books in your web browser, highlight and take notes, or download sections of books in PDF format.  Accessible off-campus with your Wheelock login.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource
Britannica is a definitive encyclopedia. You can find entries to just about anything by searching Britannica. The online encyclopaedia is a great place for background and basic information on any topic.


Oxford Reference (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference publishes many titles useful for history, social work, literature, and theatre.  Browse the full text of encyclopedias and other reference works. 

Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
Academic OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a nice place to start if you've just started your research.  Academic OneFile is a great resource for locating materials in variety of subjects, including: the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, humanities and more. Its particular strengths are in peer-reviewed articles on the topics of science and technology.

Academic Search Premier (ASP) Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.

Encyclopedia Iranica
The encyclopedia is a free online resource put together by Columbia University. The site covers many aspects of Iranian history, culture, religion, literature and more.


In the First Person Restricted Resource
This in-depth resource indexes first person narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories collected from published volumes.  Within In the First Person, you'll find personal papers from Abraham Lincoln to interviews of government officials who spent time in modern day Iraq.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is an extensive database of interdisciplinary scholarship from the humanities, social sciences and physical sciences. The database contains full-text articles and books as well as high quality images.

Massachusetts History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Massachusetts History Online contains articles that directly relate to Massachusetts - historical events, people, places, and more. The articles include a mix of scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. The database has full text articles from September 1992 to the present.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Designed to provide information for members of the military and government, this collection covers current news and scholarship in research areas such as military history, government, international affairs and diplomacy, and politics in the U.S. and across the globe.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
This unique database contains articles, reference works and primary sources concerning U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Use the Browse Subjects function to look through the database by names, places, publications, and general subjects. You can also browse by movements under the Social Movements function.

World History in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major world historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.

U.S. History in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major U.S. historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.

Biography in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A comprehensive source for information about significant individuals throughout history and the present.  Many entries include further readings and links to websites.

Selected Websites
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This incredible collection of links provided by the University of Kansas points to online versions of historical documents from the year 1000 to 2009. From the discovery of North America to the administration of Barack Obama, this site points to primary accounts, news stories, reports, speeches and other important recordings of events in American history.
American Historical Association
The site for the professional association for historians. Includes publications.
Best of History Web Sites
Rated listings of history sites and links to each. Includes sites offering lesson plans and activities, multimedia, links to archives and research databases, and organizations.
Civil Rights Clearinghouse
The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States. It is available to scholars, teachers, students, policymakers, advocates, and the public, to allow greater understanding of civil rights litigation in this country.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault contains 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies that include FBI files that have been released to the public.  New files are added regularly.
Islamic Heritage Project
Harvard has put together and made public digital, primary source material related to Islam and its culture. The site is browsable by topic area.

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum
The site includes documents from individuals, organizations, or government agencies, oral history interviews, books, still photographs, motion picture film, video recordings, audio recordings, and editorial cartoons.
Library of Congress African American History Resources
These pages link to selected collection content available online at the Library of Congress, arranged by broad categories. The Library's online content represents only a small percentage of its physical holdings.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The National Archives website has historical documents, online exhibits and links to all presidential libraries. Also has information about the electoral college.
National Museum of African American History and Culture
The Smithsonian will open its newest museum on African American History and Culture in 2015. The Institution has launched a virtual version where visitors can also donate their own memories, essays or recordings to the real-world museum.
NationMaster.com
Compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, the UN, and OECD. Maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics can be readily generated to compare data about different nations.
Our Documents
Created by the National Archives and Records Administration the website houses key documents in US history. Our Documents is a great resource and teaching tool for US civics.
Secession Era Editorials Project
This project includes a collection of editorials from the partisan newspaper press of the late antebellum period regarding four events: the Nebraska bill debates, Dred Scott, John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry, and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks. It also includes a short introduction to the partisan press, and a brief discussion of concepts of political vocabulary and political rhetoric.
Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web
A searchable guide to websites about  African, African American, and African Diaspora history and culture. The topics covered range from the underground railroad to health issues to hip hop music. Sponsored by University Libraries, UNC Chapel Hill.
Sunlight Foundation
The Sunlight Foundation is an nonprofit organization dedicated to making politics transparent. The site covers topics such as influence of money on politics, state and federal legislation, information on government officials and deleted tweets from public officials.
The King Center
Of particular interest on this site is the Archive. The Archive includes digital material related to Martin Luther King Jr. and the civil rights movement.

The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project provides digital access to Pittsburgh Jewish community newspapers dating from the 1890s to present.
United States Government Manual
From the website: United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.  The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
Virginia Center for Digital History
VCDH is home to a number of digital projects spanning the range of American history, from the Jamestown settlement, to the Civil War, to the Civil Rights movement. These projects are built to be used by K-12 educators, and the general public, as well as by college students, and scholars.
Search Primary Sources and Digital Collections
Agents of Social Change
This online exhibit presents primary source materials on 20th Century women's activism in the United States.  Also included in this exhibit are lesson plan and curriculum materials geared towards middle- and high-school students.  Materials are archived at the Sophia Smith Collection in the Smith College Libraries.

American Colonist's Library
A huge list of primary source documents pertaining to early American history.  The site links you to historical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture and ideals.

Black Abolitionist Archive
The site is a digital collection of African American abolitionists' speeches and writings. The collection is browsable and searchable.


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a searchable digital archive of newspapers from around the nation. The digital collection includes papers in multiple languages. Full text is available for publications between 1836 and 1922.

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
Primary source documents from the pre-colonial era to the present, including documents such as laws, speeches, inaugural addresses and state of the union addresses.The site is maintained by The University of Oklahoma College of Law.

Connecticut History Online Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This website provides access to many digitized primary source materials relating to Connecticut's social, political, cultural, and economic history.  It was created as a collaboration between several nonprofit, governmental, and academic institutions.  Classroom resources for lesson planning are included for use in K-12 classrooms.

DigiBaeck | German-Jewish History Online Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Leo Baeck Institute, based in New York, houses an extensive archive of primary source materials relating to German-speaking Jewish history.  Many of these primary sources have been digitized, and are viewable on the DigiBaeck website.  You can listen to oral histories, read unpublished diaries/memoirs, and view amateur films of family vacations in the 1930s.  Many art, archival, and photographic materials, as well as rare books, are accessible on this site. 

Digital History
Digital History, in partnership with a number of archives and museums, provides historical resources for teachers and students. The site is large and includes primary source documents (text, images, and sound), essays, lesson plans, resource guides, learning modules, and handouts.

Documenting the American South Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. Sponsored by the University Library of the UNC at Chapel Hill.

Flickr: The Commons
Flickr in conjunction with the Library Congress maintains a collection of publicly held photographs. The site is international in scope and allows you to search the collection.


Library of Congress: American Memory
American Memory is a gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Making of America collection at Cornell
Cornell University Library's Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Making of America collection at U. Michigan
The Making of America collection is a digital archive of 19th century primary sources from the antebellum period to reconstruction.  3.8 million pages of material have been scanned and made searchable.

Massachusetts Historical Society Resource contains images
This website includes online collections related to Massachusetts history, including images of primary documents related to the Founding Fathers, the Revolutionary War, and slavery in Massachusetts.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Adam Williams

Adam Williams
Instruction/Research Librarian
Tel: 617-879- 2279

Revised: Sep 22nd 2010
Powered by SubjectsPlus