Research Help
Chat is currently unavailable. If you need assistance, please email reference@wheelock.edu or call us at 617-879-2222.
Credo Reference (e-books)

Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
ebrary Academic Complete (e-books)

You can search this collection of e-books by title, author, subject and publisher. You can also highlight or print sections of ebrary books.
You can search this collection of e-books by title, author, subject and publisher. You can also highlight or print sections of ebrary books.
Academic Search Premier (ASP)

One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types. ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types. ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies

Extensive collection of articles related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Child Development and Adolescent Studies includes topics ranging from psychological and physical health to education and learning disabilities.
Extensive collection of articles related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Child Development and Adolescent Studies includes topics ranging from psychological and physical health to education and learning disabilities.
ERIC
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
The database is an amazing source for in-depth research into the topics of Family Science, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
The database is an amazing source for in-depth research into the topics of Family Science, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is a great database for social and behavioral sciences and a wide variety of physical, life, and health science articles as well. Many of the articles are available in full-text.
ScienceDirect is a great database for social and behavioral sciences and a wide variety of physical, life, and health science articles as well. Many of the articles are available in full-text.
MEDLINE
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields. Try the SFX link at the bottom of the article record if full-text is not available.
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields. Try the SFX link at the bottom of the article record if full-text is not available.
PubMed
PubMed is provided by the U. S. Library Medicine and National Institutes of Health. The public database contains links to articles in biomedicine and life sciences, with a good number of articles available in full-text.
PubMed is provided by the U. S. Library Medicine and National Institutes of Health. The public database contains links to articles in biomedicine and life sciences, with a good number of articles available in full-text.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)
The AACAP is a national professional medical association dedicated to treating and informing about mental, behavioral and developmental disorders in children. Resources on their site include glossaries, FAQs and fact sheets as well as clinical resources. This source is great for learning more about how psychiatric conditions such as anxiety disorders, autism, and mood disorders affect children.
The AACAP is a national professional medical association dedicated to treating and informing about mental, behavioral and developmental disorders in children. Resources on their site include glossaries, FAQs and fact sheets as well as clinical resources. This source is great for learning more about how psychiatric conditions such as anxiety disorders, autism, and mood disorders affect children.
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
You'll find information regarding the American Academy of Pediatrics' many programs and activities, policies and guidelines, publications and other child health resources and more. Using the "Health Topics" tab, users can find information about specific pediatric issues, as well as how to navigate the health system. AAP also posts information about recent research in pediatrics
You'll find information regarding the American Academy of Pediatrics' many programs and activities, policies and guidelines, publications and other child health resources and more. Using the "Health Topics" tab, users can find information about specific pediatric issues, as well as how to navigate the health system. AAP also posts information about recent research in pediatrics
American Psychological Association (APA)
The mission of the APA is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives.
The mission of the APA is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives.
AmoebaWeb - Psychology Directory
This fantastic directory of web sites contains news and information on a huge variety of current issues in the field of psychology from abnormal psychology to statistics and testing.
This fantastic directory of web sites contains news and information on a huge variety of current issues in the field of psychology from abnormal psychology to statistics and testing.
Child and Family Web Guide
Directory that evaluates, describes and provides links to hundreds of websites containing child development research and practical advice. Information is organized by subject and age group. Maintained by Tufts University.
Directory that evaluates, describes and provides links to hundreds of websites containing child development research and practical advice. Information is organized by subject and age group. Maintained by Tufts University.
Foundation for Child Development (FCD)
FCD connects users to analysis of current trends in child development and improving child education. The site includes links to the Child Well-Being Index as well as other resources under the Research Library link.
FCD connects users to analysis of current trends in child development and improving child education. The site includes links to the Child Well-Being Index as well as other resources under the Research Library link.
Mayo Clinic: Infant and Toddler Health
This trusted source for health information offers a thorough treatment of the topic, including an overview, in-depth info, multimedia, expert answers, resources, and tips for infant and toddler health.
This trusted source for health information offers a thorough treatment of the topic, including an overview, in-depth info, multimedia, expert answers, resources, and tips for infant and toddler health.
MedlinePlus: Infant and Newborn Development
This section of Medline Plus offers news, prevention and screening information, health check tools, journal articles, and directories concerning infant and newborn development. It also provides information about key developmental milestones.
This section of Medline Plus offers news, prevention and screening information, health check tools, journal articles, and directories concerning infant and newborn development. It also provides information about key developmental milestones.
National Institute of Child Health and Development
The NICHD publishes a wide variety of materials that provide health information related to its research. Its website offers an A-Z list of health topics, information about clinical research and trials, and health education resources.
The NICHD publishes a wide variety of materials that provide health information related to its research. Its website offers an A-Z list of health topics, information about clinical research and trials, and health education resources.
Office of Child Care's Child Care Technical Assistance Network (CCTAN)
This network--a service of the US Department of Health and Human Services Office of Child Care--provides comprehensive child care information resources and technical assistance.
This network--a service of the US Department of Health and Human Services Office of Child Care--provides comprehensive child care information resources and technical assistance.
Society for Research in Child Development
The SRCD is a professional association promoting multidisciplinary research in the field of human development. Their website provides information about funding and policy resources, associating meetings and governance, and its publications, such as Child Development.
The SRCD is a professional association promoting multidisciplinary research in the field of human development. Their website provides information about funding and policy resources, associating meetings and governance, and its publications, such as Child Development.
Zero to Three
Free parent brochures and guides about key issues affecting young children and their families, including child care, infant mental health, early language and literacy development, early intervention and the impact of culture on early childhood development.
Free parent brochures and guides about key issues affecting young children and their families, including child care, infant mental health, early language and literacy development, early intervention and the impact of culture on early childhood development.
