Back to Wheelock.edu
Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Credo Reference (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
ebrary Academic Complete (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search our collection of over 80,000 ebooks!  Read books in your web browser, highlight and take notes, or download sections of books in PDF format.  Accessible off-campus with your Wheelock login.
Teaching Every Student in the Digital Age: Universal Design for Learning
The online version of a book from the Center for Applied Special Technology. Drawing upon new knowledge of how the brain works and new technologies and media now available for teaching and learning, Universal Design for Learning frames a systematic approach to setting goals, choosing or creating flexible materials and media, and assessing students accurately.
Search Primary Sources and Digital Collections
What Do Teachers Teach? A Survey of America’s Fourth and Eighth Grade Teachers
For this report, teachers were asked about their teaching philosophies, their classroom teaching methods and practices, their academic expectations for their students, and their opinions on other issues of education policy.
Videatives (streaming video) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Videatives compiles high-quality short video clips of children and teachers, along with an informed interpretation from educators and developmentalists, to demonstrate principles of child development, appropriate education for young children, as well as other topics.  Sample topics include spatial relations, child-child and child-teacher communication. The videos and analysis are arranged by subject and age of child.
National Science Digital Library
"NSDL was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as a free online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research." Search their resources directly, browse by topic, alphabetical list, or the interactive visual view (NDSL at a Glance), or select resources by user group such as teachers or librarians.
Black Thought and Culture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Superb collection of African American culture and intellectual work throughout history to the present.  Black Thought and Culture includes writings by leaders within the black community, important biographies and events. To find a specific resource, go to the Browse drop-down menu at the top of any page.
Article Search: All Education Databases


When the World is a Dangerous Place: Helping Children Deal with Violence in the News
Article by Dr. Diane Levin, professor of education at Wheelock. This will load as a PDF automatically.
Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
ERIC Restricted Resource
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.
Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Teacher Reference Center covers a broad range of topics for K-12 grades and higher education. Topics include curriculum development, current pedagogical theories, literacy standards, elementary education and more.
Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Educator's Reference Complete is an excellent place to search for scholarly articles in the field of education and related topics. Make sure to check off "peer-reviewed publications" under the search box if you want to narrow your results to scholarly articles only.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields.   This database is compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Evolution: Education and Outreach
Evolution: Education and Outreach is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal that is freely available online.  Articles are relevant for K-16 students, teachers, and scientists, and some articles come with unit and lesson plans, as well as multimedia instructional content.  The aim of the journal is to improve communication and teaching about evolutionary theory and principles.
ProQuest Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Sciences includes articles from scholarly and trade journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, in the fields of education, social work, sociology, psychology and more.  You can also search education journals separately.
Education Policy, Statistics, and Systems
U.S. Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education provides funding, performs research and creates policies and programs for education. Publications, statistics, and policy information can all be found on Ed.gov.

Massachusetts Department of Elementary & Secondary Education (ESE)
The site provides access to information about the Massachusetts educational system and includes materials and statistics on the MCAS, school districts, teacher licensure, curriculum guidelines and many more standards and assessments.

Boston Public Schools
Web links, school calendars, job opportunities and more for the Boston Public School System.

Common Core State Standards Initiative
The Common Core State Standards Initiative in a collaborative project to define common education standards with a clear and consistent understanding of what students across the United States are expected to learn in their K-12 education. You can download the English Language Arts and the Mathematics standards here.

North Central Regional Educational Laboratory (NCREL)
A federally-funded educational laboratory ended in 2005, provided high-quality, research-based resources to educators and policymakers. The site provides access to many articles, reports, and bibliographies concerning technology in education.

National Center for Education Statistics
Searchable statistics from the U.S. Department of Education. Browse, use the School Search for information about specific institutions, or try the Fast Facts for a quick overview of a topic.

U.S. Census Bureau
A one-stop source for US statistical information. Search by topic, by state, or browse their library of infographics.

Association for Childhood Education International
See the Free Resources section for position papers and articles on topics such as inclusive education, standardized testing, play, and helping children cope with crisis, and the Middle Childhood Resources and Parent Resources pages.  Select "NCATE" from the left navigation bar to view the ACEI/NCATE Accreditation Standards.

Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
ASCD address all aspects of effective teaching and learning—such as professional development, educational leadership, and capacity building. The "Research A Topic" section is helpful for exploring some of the most current topics in education and curriculum development.

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
The NAEYC Standards for Early Childhood Professional Preparation Programs are used across degree levels, from associate to doctoral degree programs, and from initial licensure to advanced programs. They are used in higher education accreditation systems, in state policy development, in state approval of programs leading to early childhood teacher licensure, and in program improvement planning.

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) Standards
The NCATE is the professional accrediting body for teacher preparation.
Classroom Models & Resources
American Montessori Society
The purpose of the American Montessori Society (AMS) is to help children develop their fullest potential through the educational principles of Maria Montessori. The site includes information about the history of the movement, schools and teacher education.

CAST
Explore resources for universal design at this website.

edutopia
Site sponsored by the George Lucas Educational Foundation that features videos and other resources about education topics including integrating technology in education, assessment, project-based learning, social and emotional learning.

Visual Thinking Strategies
Visual Thinking Strategies (VTS) is a method initiated by teacher-facilitated discussions of art images, in which teachers can provide students with key behaviors sought by Common Core Standards: thinking skills that become habitual and transfer from lesson to lesson, oral and written language literacy, visual literacy, and collaborative interactions among peers.

Best Evidence Encyclopedia
What works in education? The Best Evidence Encyclopedia (BEE) from Johns Hopkins University presents reviews of research-proven educational programs to help policymakers use evidence to make informed choices, principals choose proven programs to meet state standards, teachers use the most powerful tools available, and researchers find rigorous evaluations of educational programs.

What Works Clearinghouse
Reports and practice guides about early childhood education, elementary education, English language learners, adolescent literacy, students with learning disabilities, dropout prevention and other topics. U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences.
Advocacy and Activism
Usable Knowledge
The Harvard Graduate School of Education provides access to information focused on improving education. Topics include Elementary Education, Art Education, Special Education and more.

Harvard Family Research Project
The HFRP website links you to resources family, community and education.  Browse the Harvard Family Research Project publications for great articles on education topics and more.

Rethinking Schools
Rethinking Schools is a public school reform activist organization. Through their publications and educational materials, they hope to improve public education and public school systems in the United States; particularly issues faced by urban schools.

Council of the Great City Schools (CGCS)


Schott Foundation
Foundation for public education.

National Education Association
The National Education Association (NEA) is committed to advancing the cause of public education. This site has articles on current issues and legislation in education, as well as lesson plans and classroom management practices.

Afterschool Alliance
The Afterschool Alliance is a nonprofit organization dedicated to raising awareness of the importance of afterschool programs and advocating for quality, affordable programs for all children.

Afterschool.gov
Afterschool.gov includes resources from a variety of federal agencies, including a searchable database of federal funding sources. While afterschool resources are spread across the Federal government (including HHS, ED, Justice, and others), Afterschool.gov provides a single location for the public to access this information.

Bringing Education to After-School Programs
This booklet will provide schools with ideas on how they can use their after-school program in new and effective ways to promote student achievement and meet the needs of their students and community. Each of the activities illustrated. It includes suggestions for additional resources that are available through the U.S. Department of Education.

Stopbullying.gov


Teaching Tolerance
From the Southern Poverty Law Center, this site serves as a clearinghouse for classroom anti-bias materials including activities and teaching kits.
Education Resources
State Education Agencies
Education agencies and organizations listed by state. These sites will provide information, resources, and technical assistance on educational matters to the schools and the residents.
Massachusetts Education Standards
Teaching Reading K-2 Workshops
Teaching Reading 3-5 Workshops
The videos from the Annenberg Media Learner site.  Click on the "VOD" icons next to the descriptions to begin watching the videos.
Documentation Studio - a space [at Wheelock College] for educators to learn about, develop, and exhibit documentation from a variety of learning contexts
Subject Specialist
Picture: Stacy Collins

Stacy Collins
Public Services Assistant
Tel: 617-879- 2222

Picture: Adam Williams

Adam Williams
Instruction/Research Librarian
Tel: 617-879- 2279

Revised: May 23rd 2014
Powered by SubjectsPlus