Back to Wheelock.edu
Search Early Childhood Education Sources
Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Search Primary Sources and Digital Collections
Credo Reference (reference) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
Videatives (streaming video) Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Videatives compiles high-quality short video clips of children and teachers, along with an informed interpretation from educators and developmentalists, to demonstrate principles of child development, appropriate education for young children, as well as other topics.  Sample topics include spatial relations, child-child and child-teacher communication. The videos and analysis are arranged by subject and age of child.
Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
ERIC Restricted Resource
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields.   This database is compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Educator's Reference Complete is an excellent place to search for scholarly articles in the field of education and related topics. Make sure to check off "peer-reviewed publications" under the search box if you want to narrow your results to scholarly articles only.
Teacher Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Teacher Reference Center covers a broad range of topics for K-12 grades and higher education. Topics include curriculum development, current pedagogical theories, literacy standards, elementary education and more.
Academic Search Premier (ASP) Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
ProQuest Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Social Sciences includes articles from scholarly and trade journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, in the fields of education, social work, sociology, psychology and more.  You can also search education journals separately.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
A great multidisciplinary database, this resource provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
Education Models & Research
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Offers a searchable database of the many disciplines related to child care and early education. Resources in the collection include research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.

Child Trends
Child Trends provides many resources about trends in child and youth well-being.  The organization presents  resources rich with analysis and data.  For example, Child Trends' research tools includes access to the organizations Databank, a searchable database of current trends in childhood. 

Foundation for Child Development (FCD)
FCD connects users to analysis of current trends in child development and improving child education. The site includes links to the Child Well-Being Index as well as other resources under the Research Library link.

HighScope Educational Research Foundation
HighScope is a research, development, training, and public advocacy organization that seeks to improve the life chances of children and youth by promoting active participatory learning. Website has reports and information about curricula and tools.

National Child Care Information Center (NCCIC)
Users can access local, state and federal information on early childhood care and education.  The NCCIC breaks down the site into various areas including Research and Statistics, Parent Resources, Provider Resources, among many other areas.

National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER)
NIEER conducts and communicates research to support high quality, effective, early childhood education for all young children.Publishes The State of Preschool each year.

Usable Knowledge
The Harvard Graduate School of Education provides access to information focused on improving education. Topics include Elementary Education, Art Education, Special Education and more.

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
The NAEYC Standards for Early Childhood Professional Preparation Programs are used across degree levels, from associate to doctoral degree programs, and from initial licensure to advanced programs. They are used in higher education accreditation systems, in state policy development, in state approval of programs leading to early childhood teacher licensure, and in program improvement planning.

American Montessori Society
The purpose of the American Montessori Society (AMS) is to help children develop their fullest potential through the educational principles of Maria Montessori. The site includes information about the history of the movement, schools and teacher education.

CAST
Explore resources for universal design at this website.
Government Organizations & Statistics
Administration of Children and Families (ACF)
ACF is a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  The site allows you to access policies, reports and data about the services provided by ACF.  For example, ACF provides information on the Head Start Program among other programs.

Office of Child Care's Child Care Technical Assistance Network (CCTAN)
This network--a service of the US Department of Health and Human Services Office of Child Care--provides comprehensive child care information resources and technical assistance.

Annie E. Casey Foundation
The website provides access to resources on the national and state-by-state status of children in the U.S.  Of particular interest is the Kids Count Data Center link.  The Data Center gives you great snapshot data of various child statistics.

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Compiled by representatives of both federal agencies and private organizations, this annual report includes detailed information on a set of key indicators (family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health) of child well-being.

ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
ChildStats.gov provides full online access to the annual America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being report and its datasets, as well as linking to tools from other agencies.

National Center for Education Statistics
Searchable statistics from the U.S. Department of Education. Browse, use the School Search for information about specific institutions, or try the Fast Facts for a quick overview of a topic.

National Child Care Information Center (NCCIC)
Users can access local, state and federal information on early childhood care and education.  The NCCIC breaks down the site into various areas including Research and Statistics, Parent Resources, Provider Resources, among many other areas.

U.S. Census Bureau
A one-stop source for US statistical information. Search by topic, by state, or browse their library of infographics.
Resources/Support for Parents & Practitioners
Center for the Child Care Workforce (CCW)
CCW is a non-profit research and advocacy organization whose mission is to improve the quality of early care and education for all children.  Of particular interest is the Wage Data under the Research and Resources tab.

Clearinghouse on Early Education and Parenting
Part of the Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative at the University of Illinois, CEEP has information in English and Spanish on topics such as full-day Kindergarten, homework, and recess. Publishes Early Childhood Research and Practice.

Countdown to Kindergarten/Boston
Provides information about school choice and transitioning to kindergarten in the Boston Public Schools.

Harvard Family Research Project
The HFRP website links you to resources family, community and education.  Browse the Harvard Family Research Project publications for great articles on education topics and more.

HighScope Educational Research Foundation
HighScope is a research, development, training, and public advocacy organization that seeks to improve the life chances of children and youth by promoting active participatory learning. Website has reports and information about curricula and tools.

Schott Foundation
Foundation for public education.

SparkAction
News, research and policy updates affecting children, youth and families. (Prior to 2010 was called Connect for Kids.)

Zero to Three
Free parent brochures and guides about key issues affecting young children and their families, including child care, infant mental health, early language and literacy development, early intervention and the impact of culture on early childhood development.
Additional Resources
Documentation Studio - a space [at Wheelock College] for educators to learn about, develop, and exhibit documentation from a variety of learning contexts
Subject Specialist
Picture: Stacy Collins

Stacy Collins
Public Services Assistant
Tel: 617-879- 2222

Picture: Maric Kramer

Maric Kramer
eLearning and Reference Librarian
Tel: 617-879- 1141

Scholarly Journals
Zero to Three
The Zero to Three Journal is a publication ideal for early childhood experts, early interventionists, and child care professionals.

YC Young Children

The journal of the National Association for the Education of Young Children.

Early Childhood Education Journal
Covers curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, special needs, employer-sponsored care, infant/toddler programs, child development, advocacy, as well as articles on trends, policies, and practices.

 

Revised: Jul 29th 2014
Powered by SubjectsPlus