Back to Wheelock.edu

Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Credo Reference (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.

Teaching Every Student in the Digital Age: Universal Design for Learning
The online version of a book from the Center for Applied Special Technology. Drawing upon new knowledge of how the brain works and new technologies and media now available for teaching and learning, Universal Design for Learning frames a systematic approach to setting goals, choosing or creating flexible materials and media, and assessing students accurately.

ebrary Academic Complete (e-books) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search our collection of over 80,000 ebooks!  Read books in your web browser, highlight and take notes, or download sections of books in PDF format.  Accessible off-campus with your Wheelock login.

Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
Academic Search Premier (ASP) Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the widest-ranging databases in terms of subject coverage, Academic Search Premier is a great starting point for locating articles of all types.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Educator's Reference Complete is an excellent place to search for scholarly articles in the field of education and related topics. Make sure to check off "peer-reviewed publications" under the search box if you want to narrow your results to scholarly articles only.

ERIC Restricted Resource
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.

Evolution: Education and Outreach
Evolution: Education and Outreach is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal that is freely available online.  Articles are relevant for K-16 students, teachers, and scientists, and some articles come with unit and lesson plans, as well as multimedia instructional content.  The aim of the journal is to improve communication and teaching about evolutionary theory and principles.

ProQuest Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Collection includes articles from scholarly and trade journals, as well as newspapers and magazines.  You can search across a variety of publications in social sciences, education, medicine, science, and technology, or you can limit your search to just one of these areas.

Search Primary Sources and Digital Collections
Agents of Social Change
This online exhibit presents primary source materials on 20th Century women's activism in the United States.  Also included in this exhibit are lesson plan and curriculum materials geared towards middle- and high-school students.  Materials are archived at the Sophia Smith Collection in the Smith College Libraries.

Digital History
Digital History, in partnership with a number of archives and museums, provides historical resources for teachers and students. The site is large and includes primary source documents (text, images, and sound), essays, lesson plans, resource guides, learning modules, and handouts.

Teaching with Documents
Offers copies of primary documents in U.S. history from the Revolution to the present with curriculum planning support.

Selected Websites
50states.com
Interactive games and lesson plans relating to the 50 states.
ArtsEdge
Provides tools to develop interdisciplinary curricula that integrate the arts with other academic subjects. Lessons, links, activities, articles, and “how-to’s are available for K-12.
Best Evidence Encyclopedia
What works in education? The Best Evidence Encyclopedia (BEE) from Johns Hopkins University presents reviews of research-proven educational programs to help policymakers use evidence to make informed choices, principals choose proven programs to meet state standards, teachers use the most powerful tools available, and researchers find rigorous evaluations of educational programs.
Best of History Web Sites
Rated listings of history sites and links to each. Includes sites offering lesson plans and activities, multimedia, links to archives and research databases, and organizations.
Blank and Outline Maps
A collection of printable maps of the fifty states, the U.S. and other countries.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Web Site
Collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
Center for Community Learning at the Boston Children's Museum
See especially the Library, Wampanoag, and Lessons & Activities sections of the teacher center at the Boston Children's Museum in addition to the Exhibits, Grown-ups, and Kids areas from the museum's home page.
Children's Literature
Source for independent reviews, organized by themes such as butterflies or Ellis Island. Provides free teaching materials, essays and criticism, author and illustrator interviews, links to booklists and other resources, and a monthly newsletter.
Cobblestone Publishing -- Favorite Links
Teachers' guides and national standards correlations for using Cobblestone Publisher's magazines in the classroom.
Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL)
CASEL is a non-profit organization that seeks to  establish social and emotional learning (SEL) as an essential part of education by advancing the science of SEL. Find information about SEL programs and activities here.
Collaborative Lesson Archive
K-12 lesson plans primarily on science topics with links to curriculum content in other fields.
Common Core State Standards Initiative
The Common Core State Standards Initiative in a collaborative project to define common education standards with a clear and consistent understanding of what students across the United States are expected to learn in their K-12 education. You can download the English Language Arts and the Mathematics standards here.

E-Nature
E-Nature provides online field guides for over 5,500 species in the animal and plant kingdoms. Guides include pictures, physical descriptions, information about habitats, as well as warnings about the species. The site also has a great ask-an-expert section.
EconEdLink
From the National Council on Economic Education, this site provides Internet-based lesson materials for K-12 classrooms. It includes lesson plans based on current events, up-to-date macroeconomic data and links to helpful websites.
EDSITEment
Lessons, web resources, and a section on classroom Internet integration from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Educator's Reference Desk - Lesson Plans
This is an extensive collection of online education resources. It includes a large selection of lesson plans in a variety of subjects - from arts to computer science to history or philosophy - as well as free access to the ERIC database.
edutopia
Site sponsored by the George Lucas Educational Foundation that features videos and other resources about education topics including integrating technology in education, assessment, project-based learning, social and emotional learning.
FAIR (Fairness for All Individuals through Respect)
Designed for elementary school children, FAIR teaches participants ways to understand gender, racial, and economic injustices.
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE)
Teaching and learning resources from Federal agencies. Includes photos, videos, animations and primary source material.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Provides links to resources on a variety of topics dealing with food, nutrition and health.
Free Technology for Teachers
This frequently-updated blog has information and advice for incorporating a wide variety of (free!) technology tools into your classroom.  Sample posts include:  "How to set up a wiki," "Scholastic Presents an Interactive Underground Railroad Lesson," and "Five Free Scientific Calculators."  Be sure to check out the links to his sites on iPad and Android apps for schools!

Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
Screened lesson plans for grades K-16 in a wide array of subjects.
Great Websites for Kids
This American Library Association page links to websites of interest to children. It is organized by topics, including animals, literature and languages, sciences, the arts, and history and biography. Sites are tagged as appropriate for pre-kindergarten, elementary, middle school youth, and parents/teachers/caregivers.
Historic Maps in K-12 Classrooms
This site has been designed specifically to support basic map and information acquisition skills at the K-2 levels and social studies, history, or geography teaching at other levels.
Illuminations
Offers web resources for teaching and learning of mathematics for students in grades Pre-K to 12, including lessons and interactive math tools. The site also offers information about the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics principles and standards for school mathematics.
Interactivate
A set of free, online courseware for exploration in science and mathematics, comprising activities, lessons, and discussions.
Journey North: A Global Study of Wildlife Migration and Seasonal Change
Standards-based lesson plans and activities to help students track the spring's arrival by migration patterns and other natural events and to make local observations and fit them into a global context presented by Annenberg Media.
Mashantucket Pequot Museum and Research Center
The museum has permanent exhibits, a gallery, libraries, and a research department devoted to the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation. See the Educational Resources section of the website for classroom activities and extensive information, interactive exhibits, and images related to native lifeways, society and culture, and the natural world.
Math Magic
Math Magic is an extensive collection of math problems, with sets appropriate for K-3rd grade up to 10-12th grade.
Mid-continent Research for Education and Learning (McREL)
The McREL site provides the standards and benchmarks for education across many disciplines. The site also includes lesson plans and links to free classroom materials.
MisCositas.com
Developed for students and teachers, this multicultural site contains a collection of online picture books in English, French and Spanish. Each story includes suggested curricula as well as related links.
NASA Quest
NASA Quest Challenges are free Web-based, interactive explorations designed to engage students in authentic scientific and engineering processes. The solutions relate to issues encountered daily by NASA personnel.
National Atlas
Customize your own map for printing or viewing, print pre-formatted maps on a variety of topics, order wall-sized maps, play with interactive maps, and learn about mapping topics with this tool from the U.S. Geological Service.
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives for Interactive Mathematics
Provides online versions of an array of manipulatives, such as pattern blocks and fraction pieces, as well as graphers, a coin tosser, and number puzzles, with lesson plans.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Research
A joint effort with the University of South Alabama, this site provides middle school science students and teachers with research and investigation experiences using online resources. Lesson plans, activities, and fact sheets are all included on NOAA's Research site.
NGA Classroom (National Gallery of Art)
This site features teaching resources from the National Gallery of Art.  The resources are browsable by curriculum, topic and artist.
PBS Teachers
PBS provides lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations that correspond with their online and television programming. They also provide professional development offerings and discussion forums for teachers.
Peace Corps World Wise Schools
A program designed to broaden perspectives in culture and geography and to encourage service, with cross-cultural publications, videos, folk tales, and more. The site offers lesson plans as well as service learning and enrichment projects.
Plimoth Plantation
Plimoth Plantation, a bicultural museum, offers powerful personal encounters with history built on thorough research about the Wampanoag People and the Colonial English community in the 1600s. The "Teachers" section under Education Programs provides workshop catalogs, curriculum frameworks and helpful links for learning about related topics.
Puzzlemaker
A puzzle and games generation tool for teachers and parents. Users can make word searches, crosswords, mazes, math games and other puzzles.
ReadWriteThink
Developed by IRA in partnership with the National Council of Teachers of English and the MarcoPolo Education Foundation, the ReadWriteThink website provides teachers and students with resources for reading and language arts teaching and learning.
Science Net Links
Contains standards-based lesson plans in the sciences that incorporate reviewed Internet resources that can be selected according to specific learning goals and grade ranges (K-12).
Smithsonian Education
This site provides access to lesson plans, Smithsonian resources, and field trip information. Use the "State Standards of Learning" section to browse for educational resources aligned with state standards for each grade and subject.
Teachable Moment -- Topical Activities for the K-12 Classroom
TeachableMoment.org provides educators with timely teaching ideas to encourage critical thinking on issues of the day and foster a positive classroom environment. It is a project of Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility.
Teachers Net
Teachers Net is a resource-rich site which includes lesson plans, classroom activities, teacher blogs, and job listings. Grade levels from pre-school through college are covered.
Thinkfinity
Thinkfinity.org is the Verizon Foundation’s online portal to standards-based, grade-specific, K–12 lesson plans and other educational resources provided with many of the nation’s leading educational and literacy organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau Teaching Materials
K-4 teaching tools, resource materials, workshops, and other professional development opportunities related to the U.S. Census.
Usable Knowledge
The Harvard Graduate School of Education provides access to information focused on improving education. Topics include Elementary Education, Art Education, Special Education and more.
Watch Know Learn
This is an online directory to thousands of free educational videos organized by subject category. These videos have been reviewed and approved by teachers, educators, and instructors.

Whelmers - McREL's Accessible Science Series
These hands-on science activities are aligned with the National Science Education Standards and are appropriate for all ages.
Curriculum Resources
Locating Curriculum Materials at Wheelock Library pdf
Locating Children's Books at Wheelock Library pdf
Documentation Studio - a space [at Wheelock College] for educators to learn about, develop, and exhibit documentation from a variety of learning contexts

Subject Specialist
Picture: Adam Williams

Adam Williams
Instruction/Research Librarian
Tel: 617-879- 2279

Revised: Dec 3rd 2013
Powered by SubjectsPlus