Back to Wheelock.edu
Find Books: Search the catalog and e-books
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Restricted Resource
The encyclopedia is most useful by browsing the index (eBook index) link at the top of the page. Multicultural America gives concise yet comprehensive information on most cultures in America.
U.S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library
The encyclopedia is most useful by browsing the index (eBook index) link at the top of the page. US Immigration and Migration Library gives concise yet comprehensive information on laws affecting immigration and the immigrant populations themselves.
Selected Websites
Boston Indicators Project
The site provides data on the city of Boston from 10 sectors of society, such as Civic Vitality, Education and Health. One of the real benefits of this site is the ability to view data from specific neighborhoods.
Family Search
Family Search offers access to their resources through the search tools on its website. The search tool primarily relies on US census data from 1930.
The Department of Homeland Security
This site provides information on citizenship & immigration services, cybersecurity, civil rights, human trafficking, and disasters. It also provides student resources such as educational websites links for younger students, internship & job opportunities, student and exchange student programs.
U.S. Census Bureau
A one-stop source for US statistical information. Search by topic, by state, or browse their library of infographics.
Family History Archive
Family History Archive includes histories of families, county and local histories, how-to books on genealogy and more. The resource is a great way to learn about last name histories.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
The site is devoted to the history of the trans-atlantic slave trade and connecting you to the databases of voyages and slave names.
Ellis Island
Search the Ellis Island database of all the passengers who arrived through the port of New York.
Castle Garden
The site allows access to immigrant passenger records between 1820-1892.
US Gen Web Project
Search genealogical and family histories by state in this free resource.
Massachusetts Archives
The Massachusetts Archives explains how to access the collection of vital records, passenger manifests and other historical information related to Massachusetts genealogy. Some collections are available online.
Archives.org - Resources for Genealogists and Family History
The National Archive links you to resources to help you discover your family history.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a repository for the internet. This includes vital records of the US. Search "vital records" and select mediatype "Text." You can also add the state name to your search to help narrow down results.
Cyndi's List
Lists of additional resources for all aspects of genealogical studies, including demographic information, other library resources, directories and more.
New England Historic Genealogical Society
Under the search box there is a brief tutorial on how to use the site. Using the search tool requires membership, but the NEHGS site does have other information of interest for genealogical studies. Also take a look at AfricanAmericanAncestors.org and NewYorkAncestors.org.
Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy - NYPL
New York Public Library's local history and genealogy department includes links to genealogy resources.
Find Articles: Search Databases and e-journals
U.S. History in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major U.S. historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is an extensive database of interdisciplinary scholarship from the humanities, social sciences and physical sciences. The database contains full-text articles and books as well as high quality images.
World History in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major world historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.
Additional Resources: AST 220
American Immigrant Cultures - R 305.8 Am35
Encyclopedia of American immigration - R 304.8 EN19
A Dictionary of Surnames - R929.4 H19d
Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy - R929.1 G85r

Additional Resources
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is an archive of newspapers from around the nation. The digital collection includes papers from 23 states. Full text is available for publications between 1860-1922.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Reference Desk

Reference Desk
Reference
Tel: 617-879- 2222

Picture: Maric Kramer

Maric Kramer
eLearning and Reference Librarian
Tel: 617-879- 1141

Revised: Jul 29th 2014
Powered by SubjectsPlus