Back to Wheelock.edu
Databases
ABCEGHIJKLMNOPSTUVWNumAll
more information icon Click for more information about a database.
Some full text available = Some full text
Restricted Resource = Wheelock Faculty, Staff & Students only

Academic OneFile
This is a nice place to start if you've just started your research.  Academic OneFile is a great resource for locating materials in variety of subjects, including: the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, humanities and more. Its particular strengths are in peer-reviewed articles on the topics of science and technology.
Academic Search Premier (ASP)
A great starting point for locating scholarly articles.  ASP covers social sciences (education, psychology), humanities (art, literature), physical sciences (biology, ecology), as well as other areas.
Academic Video Online (streaming video)
Academic Video Online touches on the undergraduate curriculum needs of virtually every department and contains over 12,000 titles. 
Article Multi-search
Search everything!
ARTStor
ARTStor is an ideal source for viewing high quality images of art and architecture throughout history to the present. The images include information on creator, time period, geography, medium and more.
Biography in Context
A comprehensive source for information about significant individuals throughout history and the present. Many entries include further readings and links to websites.
Black Thought and Culture
Superb collection of historical and contemporary sources related to African-American culture and intellectual life.  Includes writings by leaders within the black community, important biographies and events.
Boston Business Journal
Boston Business Journal (BBJ) links you to a variety of business resources ranging from professional journals, trade publications and career resources.
Boston Globe
Looking for an article that you read and can't quite remember in which issue? Need to find news articles about major local or international events? Try searching the Globe. This online resource provides easy and convenient access to the Boston Globe newspaper from 1980 - present.
CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides extensive access to materials on health-related issues from nursing and allied health scholarship.  For example, you can find research on physical fitness in children or child life care.  Access is limited to four concurrent users.
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Provides full-text access to over 100 journals in the field of communication from 1980 to present. Subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
This database is an in-depth collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
CQ Researcher (reference)
CQ Researcher provides in-depth reports on hot topics from bullying to foreign policy. Browse topics or check out their Pro/Con section to learn about both sides of an issue.
Credo Reference (reference)
Search across Credo's collection of online reference books including general and subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  Entries are concise, comprehensive and written with the student in mind.
EBL (e-books)
E-Book Library (EBL) is a collection of over 80,000 books available in convenient ebook format, accessible with your Wheelock login.  This resource is on trial through the end of the spring semester. Please provide any feedback to reference@wheelock.edu
ebrary Academic Complete (e-books)
Search our collection of over 80,000 ebooks!  Read books in your web browser, highlight and take notes, or download sections of books in PDF format.  Accessible off-campus with your Wheelock login.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete is an excellent place to search for scholarly articles in the field of education and related topics. Make sure to check off "peer-reviewed publications" under the search box if you want to narrow your results to scholarly articles only.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Britannica is a great starting point for basic information, with entries for just about anything. Try using the related articles and web links to help navigate and deepen your knowledge.
ERIC
A great education source, ERIC provides citations and abstracts--and sometimes full text--from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, and technical reports going back to 1966.
European Views of the Americas
European Views of the Americas serves as a guide to books and other printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It includes the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (reference)
The online resource is a good place to being your research on a new topic.  The Virtual Reference Library covers a variety of subjects, including arts, religion, history, science, multicultural studies, and more.
General OneFile
The General OneFile database is a great starting point for any research paper, especially if you need news and periodical articles.  Topics range from business to sports to the social sciences. This database provides easy access to multimedia results including images and videos in the lefthand column of the search results page.
Global Issues in Context
This is a great tool to find a variety of perspectives on current global events.  Global Issues in Context includes search tips that can be found under the 'Research Tools' tab if you get stuck.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a great source for information on environmental science and related technology.   Discover articles about the human impact on the environment and new technologies to help solve global energy issues, among other issues.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Extensive collection of health and medical information including journal articles and reference materials as well as videos and pamphlets. Includes a listing of trusted sites, and ways to assess your own health.  Material contained in this resource is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Reference Center Academic
Great collection of general interest health and fitness magazines with some medical and professional journals.
Humanities Source
Find scholarly articles, interviews, original works of fiction, and reviews of books and performances.  Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, religion, film, communications, performing arts, and more.
In the First Person
This in-depth resource indexes first person narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories collected from published volumes.  Within In the First Person, you'll find personal papers from Abraham Lincoln to interviews of government officials who spent time in modern day Iraq.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an extensive database of interdisciplinary scholarship from the humanities, social sciences and physical sciences. Contains full-text articles, but may exclude the most recent issues.
Junior Edition K-12
Fantastic resource for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Kids Infobits
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.  The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from elementary reference sources and magazines, and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Extensive resource for news, legal, or business information. Lexis-Nexis is particularly helpful when looking for newspaper articles or information about legal cases and statutes.
LGBT Life
Great resource providing full text access to some of the most important and historically significant journals, magazines, newspapers, and books regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Literature Resources from Gale
Literature Resources searches across multiple sources for content related to the study of literature.  You can narrow down your search by time period or type of article including, reviews, biography, criticism, etc.
Lynda.com
Easy-to-follow video tutorials that help you learn software, business, creative skills, and more.
Massachusetts History Online
Massachusetts History Online contains articles that directly relate to Massachusetts - historical events, people, places, and more. The articles include a mix of scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles. The database has full text articles from September 1992 to the present.
MediaEd Streaming Video
Watch full-length videos that consider the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Contains some of the most-watched videos from the Wheelock College Library.
MEDLINE
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. 
Military & Government Collection
Designed to provide information for members of the military and government, this collection covers current news and scholarship in research areas such as military history, government, international affairs and diplomacy, and politics in the U.S. and across the globe.
Nursing Resource Center
Nursing Resource Center gives you access to materials on health related issues from nursing and allied health scholarship.  The database includes quick references to drugs, diseases and Nursing Interventions and Outcomes indicators.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Research opposing viewpoints on various current issues in this database, featuring topic overviews, full-text magazine, news, and journal articles, podcasts, websites, and more.
Oxford Art Online (reference)
Comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide throughout history. Access biographies, subject pages, citations, images, and entries from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Oxford Reference (reference)
Oxford Reference publishes many titles useful for history, social work, literature, and theatre.  Browse the full text of encyclopedias and other reference works. 
ProQuest Collection
ProQuest Collection includes articles from scholarly and trade journals, as well as newspapers and magazines. Search across a variety of publications in social sciences, education, medicine, science, and technology.
ProQuest Health and Medicine
ProQuest Health and Medicine is a database of scholarly journals, trade journals, books, reports, and more.  Information in this database is intended both for scholars and professionals in the fields of health and medicine.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search over 50 local, regional, and national newspapers and news magazines at one time. Access full text of articles from the 1980s to the present day.
ProQuest Science & Technology
Search for articles in biology, computing, applied and general science. Includes scholarly research articles as well as conference papers and proceedings, reports, magazines and trade journals.
ProQuest Social Sciences
ProQuest Social Sciences includes articles from scholarly and trade journals, as well as newspapers and magazines, in the fields of education, social work, sociology, psychology and more.  You can also search education journals separately.
PsycARTICLES
Full-text professional and academic articles from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association since 1894. Includes psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and communications.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO connects you to international scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences fields.   This database is compiled and maintained by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Sage Journals Online
A great multidisciplinary database, this resource provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, medicine, and technology.
Sage Knowledge (reference)
Reference works in Sage cover a broad range of social science subjects, including social work, child development, media studies, education, and more.  Browse the list of titles to find articles on a topic of interest to you.
Science in Context
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major scientific topics. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, and relevant articles from academic journals. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a great database for social and behavioral sciences and a wide variety of physical, life, and health science articles as well. Many of the articles are available in full-text.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
In-depth research database with full text articles in sociology, social work and related disciplines such as ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, and political sociology.
Springer Link
Springer journals include many articles in the physical & life sciences, medicine & nutrition, math & engineering, and business & management.  Try browsing using the “discipline” and “subdiscipline” search features to browse for recent articles in your field.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center covers a broad range of topics for K-12 grades and higher education. Topics include curriculum development, current pedagogical theories, literacy standards, elementary education and more.
U.S. History in Context
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major U.S. historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.
Videatives (streaming video)
Videatives compiles short video clips of children and teachers, along with informed interpretation by educators. Sample topics include spatial relations, child-child and child-teacher communication. Videos and analysis are arranged by subject and age of child.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
This unique database contains articles, reference works and primary sources about U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Browse by name, place, publication, subject, or by social movement.
World History in Context
Aggregates a diversity of sources on major world historical topics and people. Includes links to encyclopedia articles, images, audio, relevant articles from academic journals, and primary sources. Good starting point for a contextual overview of a major topic.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


This page maintained by: Louisa Choy
Powered by SubjectsPlus